I Was A Child

child abuse 1

I got this off of another persons blog, their link is below. I hate to have to show this kind of picture but if you don’t get out of an abusive situation…this is what could happen to your children.

http://phillybookpicks.wordpress.com/

Show your support by reading this poem or forwarding this posting. Of  all crimes committed against a person, rape is the one that leaves a person feeling the most violated. A rape victim is often left with the feeling that a part of them has been torn apart. Writing down their express feeling in a poem, is away to release angry, trauma and begin the healing survivor process. Please read one the rape victim’s poem for awareness. Hope you will go to (http://www.aftersilence.org/ ) to show your support, thank you

 

” I Was a Child “

 

No, I won’t stay silent anymore.
No, I’m not your good little girl, your princess, your sunshine.
No, it isn’t my responsibility to save your marriage,
To hold the family together, to make you happy.
No, I’m not responsible that you and mum slept in separate beds,
That your family isn’t perfect.
No, it wasn’t nice or fun.
No, it wasn’t OK with me and I didn’t enjoy it.
No, your money won’t make it all better,
Your gifts don’t compensate me.
No, I won’t do anything for your love,
Your approval, your affection.
No, I won’t be blamed or lose respect if I tell what happened.
No, the sky won’t cave in and I won’t be left alone.
No, I won’t deny that it ever happened,
Suppress my feelings or play happy families.
No, I wasn’t horrible or evil.
No, I didn’t deserve it.
I was a child.

6 thoughts on “I Was A Child

  1. Pingback: I Was A Child | zealthinks

  2. Bless those who speak out scream out shout out.

    My God, my heart just trembles with sadness when I read these things, and there’s a lot out there, you know. Blogging, I’ve noticed, is a way forward for many otherwise victims. People are standing up and making their way through, and that is just great.

    I see sadness in your eyes in your picture. Sorry to be so personal, but I do. I wish you wellness.

    • Yes blogging is a way to heal as well as a way to spread awareness to others about abuse. Yes there is sadness in the little girls eyes and I feel so sorry for her as well. And yes there is sadness in my eyes as well. There has been sadness in my eyes for a long time. It is hard for survivors who have been through hell and back to get the sadness out of our eyes. Some more so than others. But after 7 years, I am finally seeking help and hopefully there will be “Brighter Tomorrows” around the corner. There is no need to be sorry about being personal either. And thank you for the wishes. God bless you and have a great day!

Leave a Reply

